To provide communications, programs, services and activities of interest to TI retirees and former TIers around the world.

2008 Golf Tournament


The ninth Annual TIAA Charity Golf Tournament raised $21,710 for The Senior Source, an organization that has worked to improve the quality of life for senior citizens in the North Texas area for more than 45 years.

On Monday, September 8, some 60 golfers turned out to enjoy some of the best golf weather we’ve seen in years. Ray Smerge, representing The Senior Source, thanked golfers for their contributions and gave a brief review of the programs benefiting seniors, such as Senior Companions, RSVP, and Nursing Home Ombudsman.

TIAA President Ronnie Brandenburg and Courtney Miller, Co-Chair of the Tournament, presented the check representing the proceeds to Molly Bogen, Executive Director of The Senior Source. In accepting the contribution, Molly commented on the importance of the TI Alumni group to The Senior Source over the past several years, and thanked all of those who made the tournament a success.

Max Post recognized the efforts of TI retiree volunteers who helped in raising funds for the tournament and assisted with logistics on game day, as well as for more than 60 TI Retirees who mailed in donations. He also cited the work of Courtney Miller, his wife Dee, and daughter Margaret Eckert for their support.

Courtney announced the winning teams as follows:

  • First place: John Gibson, Mark Gibson, Buck Downs, & John White
  • Second place: Kevin Koestner, Todd Joachim, Joe Shelley, & Brad Woodson
  • Third place: Voyd Hill, Jesse Jackson, OD Eastland
  • Fourth place: Matt Davis, Kent Porter, Chris Scarborough, & Albert Suarez

Golfers were also recognized for the following accomplishments:

  • Long Drive, Men: Kevin Koestner
  • Long Drive, Ladies: Joan Nichols
  • Closest to Pin Par Threes:
  • Hole #5 Ted Miller
  • Hole #7 and #12 Rex Ferguson
  • Hole #17 Robert Ramirez

Courtney thanked the golfers for their contributions and asked their inputs for next year’s tournament. He also recognized the tremendous support by TIAA Administrator, Jessica Stewart, and Stephanie Grossman of The Senior Source, in making the tournament a success.

Courtney recognized the underwriters of the tournament – Texans Credit Union and Texas Instruments.  Their contributions cover the cost of the tournament so that 100% of donations can go directly to The Senior Source.

The TIAA would like to thank all those, golfers as well as non-golfers, who contributed this year.

Legend Sponsors

  • Highland Springs by Erickson Retirement 
  • Edward Jones/Jerry Pierce
  • Ricker Retirement Specialists
  • Merrill Lynch & Co./Mike McChesney
  • Smith Barney/James Augenbaugh
  • Wachovia Securities, LLC/Joseph A. Marshall, V.P., & Steve Hatton, Ohio National
  • Wal-Mart

Champion Sponsors

Classic Residence by Hyatt

Master Sponsors

  • Air Liquide Electronics, U.S., LP
  • Sarah Bradford, State Farm Insurance
  • Newark
  • Paradigm Home Health
  • SVtronics,Inc.
  • Gold Sponsors

Anonymous, Dot Adler, Billie & Bill Aylesworth, Joan & DeLamar Bell, Ronnie & Jerry Brandenburg, Joan Eschrich, Luise Evans, Ida & Ed Hassler, Dick Hulton, Sharon & Larry James, Joan & Marvin Lane, Barbara Lewis, Jan & Herby Locke, John McCormack, Lewis & Valerie McMahan, Dee & Courtney Miller, Ed Millis, Cherrie & Jack Musser, Dave Noble, Una Payne in Memory of Les Payne, Max & Candy Post, Janelle Richards, Kathleen & Thomas Rose, Beth A. Rumph, State Farm Insurance, Ross Schraeder, Martha & Perry Skelton, Carl Skooglund, Bies Van Biesen, Pat & Pat Weber, and John E. Woodward.

Silver Sponsors

Anonymous, Jim D. & Nancy Adams, Al Blaylock, Molly H. Bogen, Mr. & Mrs. Ken Echelberger, Phil Gray, Ida & Ed Hassler, Debi Heaton, Ty Kolb, Roy Reynolds, Peg Ripple, Jessica Stewart, and Ann & Freddie Tunnell.

Bronze Sponsors

Anonymous, Byron Ahlburn, Lena Katherine Allen, Edward Antilla, Bart Bechtel, Thela Bone, Glen Burton, Paula Calvert, Alice Casey, Roberta Hill, Harley LeBoeuf, Ruth Lee, Mr. & Mrs. Swanzy Meadows, Anna J. Morris, Delois Morris, Beatrice W. Perkins, Jean Ramzel, Ruth Robinson, Jim Rowland, and John W. Wilson.

See photos from the 2008 golf tournament.