To provide communications, programs, services and activities of interest to TI retirees and former TIers around the world.

2003 Golf Tournament


Over 75 golfers participated in the TIAA fourth Annual Charity Golf Tournament, held September 8 at the Oakridge Country Club in Garland, to benefit The Senior Source, Senior Citizens of Greater Dallas.

It was a great tournament, and TI retirees enjoyed renewing old friendships. At the awards ceremony, a check was presented by Herby Locke, TI retiree and tournament co-organizer, to Molly Bogen, Executive Director, The Senior Source, representing the $26,430 raised by golfers, sponsors, and individual retiree contributors. Alvin Wade, President of the Board of Directors for The Senior Source thanked retirees for their support and summarized the work done by The Senior Source in the community. This year's result brings the total to more than $80,000 raised by the TIAA tournament for needy seniors in our community over the past three years.

Special recognition was given to Texas Instruments and the Texans Credit Union for underwriting the costs of the tournament again this year. This made it possible for all proceeds to go directly to The Senior Source.

Recognition was also given to the Legend Sponsors for their generosity, each contributing $1500 to the tournament.

Herby Locke announced the winning golf teams - it was an exciting finish with two teams tied for first place. It was necessary to examine individual score cards to determine the winning team. The final results were as follows:

  • First Place: Les Payne; Jackie Gross; Burnie Yurin; Ronnie Payne
  • Second Place: Ted Miller; Wimpy Cain; Max Price; Dwain Chaffin
  • Third Place: John Gibson; Mark Gibson; Walt Bonner; Truett Wallis
  • Fourth Place: David Van Winkle; Courtney Miller; Sam Duyka; Mike O'Brien

Golfers were also recognized for the following accomplishments:

  • Long Drive # 6 Wimpy Cain
  • Long Drive # 13 Ty Kolb
  • Near Pin # 5 Charles Wofford
  • Near Pin # 7 Max Price
  • Near Pin # 11 Bryan Petska
  • Near Pin # 17 Burnie Yurin

Winners of the drawing for special contributions to the tournament were:

  • First Prize: Fred Teter (Southwest Airlines tickets)
  • Second Prize: Bonnie & Kenneth Bradley (DVD/VCR player)
  • Third Prize: Jim Hubbard (Orchid plant)

Two local automobile dealers placed cars at selected holes to be awarded in the event of a hole-in-one. Despite the best efforts of golfers, no cars were won at this year's tournament, but there's always next year! Special thanks to Classic BMW in Richardson, and David McDavid Lincoln Mercury in Plano for their support of the tournament. Please let these businesses and our other sponsors know that you appreciate their help in the success of the tournament.

Corporate Sponsors

  • Texas Instruments (Corporate Co-Underwriter for costs of tournament)
  • Texans Credit Union (Corporate Co-Underwriter for costs of tournament)
  • Classic BMW, 300 N. Central Expressway, Richardson (provided car for hole-in-one shot)
  • David McDavid Lincoln-Mercury, 3333 W. Plano Parkway, Plano (provided car for hole-in-one shot)
  • Southwest Airlines (provided tickets for drawing)
  • The Senior News Source (provided full-page ad in their publication)

Legend Sponsors

  • A.G. Edwards & Sons/Rob Frey 
  • ClearHaven Cruises/Kathleen Humphrey 
  • Edward Jones/Jerry Pierce 
  • Merrill Lynch/Gregory Hornok, CFM 
  • Raymond James & Associates/James Augenbaugh & John Howe 
  • State Farm Insurance/Sarah Bradford 
  • Town Village Retirement Living
  • Wachovia Securities, LLC/Joseph A. Marshall, V.P

Champion Sponsors

  • Group One Realtors --  Candy Post
  • KLA Tencor Corporation
  • Lincoln Financial Advisors --  Cyndy Montgomery, CFP® CPA
  • Merrill Lynch Private Client Group -- Michael J.Owen, CFM and Vernon Gang Jr., CFM  
  • Monticello West Retirement Community
  • Morgan Spaulding, Inc.
  • Nationwide Insurance --  Carl Collum
  • The Grand Texan Seniors Community
  • U.S. Trust Company of Texas, NA

Master Sponsors

  • Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Texas
  • Jerry and Ronnie Brandenburg
  • Frost Bank
  • George J. Nachman,  Attorney at Law
  • Paradigm Home Health Services
  • Dale M. Pescatrice

Individual Hole Sponsors

  • Molly H. Bogen
  • John & Mary Gilhooly
  • Ed & Ida Hassler
  • The Hoglunds
  • Dick Hulton
  • James Jackson/Challenger, Gray & Christmas, Inc.
  • Millard Jumper
  • Marv & Joan Lane
  • Herby Locke
  • Fritz & Luise Evans--Midwest Electrical
  • Les & Una Payne
  • Max & Candy Post
  • Sheldon Realtors
  • Carl & Sandy Skooglund
  • Jack & Libby Swindle
  • Fred Teter
  • Value Added Communications
  • Pat Weber

Golf Cart Sponsors

  • Jim & Nancy Adams
  • Nancy & Al Blaylock
  • Jim Canon
  • Joan Eschrich
  • Rex and Gloria Ferguson
  • Jim Fischer
  • Ed & Ida Hassler
  • Jim & Pat Hubbard
  • Patsy Kelley
  • John McCormack
  • Cleophus Miller, Jr.
  • Alice Parry
  • Thelma Peacock
  • Reuben & Phyllis Turlington
  • Pat Weber

Individual Contributors

Iree Abney, Dot Adler, Roy L. Andrews, Ed Anttila, James Aughenbaugh, DeLamar & Joan Bell, Kenneth & Bonnie Bradley, Betty J. Brown, R. Stuart Bush/Heidrick & Struggles, Inc., Jerry Corey, Dolores Easley, Marilyn Gilliam, Ben & Julia Hallford, Hoot & Martha Heuer, Roberta Hill, Sherel Horsley, Jon H. Jackson, Harold C. Kolb, Jr., Linda Lambert, Harley LeBoeuf, Ruth Lee, Jewell C. Lindley-Crouch, Jerry L. Lupher,   Wayne Matthewson, Pauline & Swanzy Meadows, Victor C. Messmer, John Courtney Miller, Ed Millis, Anna J. Morris, Doris Mitchell Mott, Mr. & Mrs. Michael O'Brien, Mr. & Mrs. John R. Pies, John Rahe, Janelle M. Richards, Bill Rigsby, Walter Riley, Peggy E. Ripple, Jimmie B. Roberts, Kathleen & Thomas Rose, Tony Schmidt, Sam Self, Maryon (Ruchelman) Spotswood, Anita Stinchcombe, Sharlene Tucker, Warren & Nellda Vivirito, John E. Woodward and Bernie Yurin.