To provide communications, programs, services and activities of interest to TI retirees and former TIers around the world.

2002 Golf Tournament


The TI Alumni Association Third Annual Charity Golf Tournament, held September 9 at the Oak Ridge Country Club in Garland, Texas, was a tremendous success. At the awards ceremony, a check for $25,450 was presented by Herby Locke, TI retiree and tournament organizer, to Molly Bogen, Executive Director, Senior Citizens of Greater Dallas, benefiting her organization devoted exclusively to serving older adults throughout the Metroplex. The first place team prize went to Herby “Lucky” Locke, Tim Harle, and Dale Pescatrice who finished with a score of 55.

TIAA members, TI retirees, golfers and sponsors swung together to give tax-free donations of $24,450 to aid the various programs sponsored by the Senior Citizens of Greater Dallas (SCGD). SCGD is an organization devoted exclusively to serving older adults throughout the Metroplex.

The TI Alumni Association held its third annual golf tournament on September 9 at the Oak Ridge Country Club which is a beautiful country club located in Garland, TX. The TIAA Activities Committee was guided in this effort by Herby Locke and Rex Ferguson, both avid golfers. Tropical Storm Faye might have played a role in this tournament, too, except that she dropped 3” of rain the day before and continued on her way leaving us with a great day for being outside.

There were 82 golfers composed of active TIers, retired TIers and/or family members. They all enjoyed lunch, putting practice and a shotgun start. Carl Skooglund, President of the Texins Association, said he took “a trip down memory lane” just while reading the golf roster. Each golfer contributed $75 for the SCGD and $25 toward the player's pool.

The awards ceremony at the end of the tournament had these results:

  • First place:  Herby “Lucky” Locke, Tim Harle, and Dale Pescatrice who finished with a score of 55
  • Second place:  John Gibson, Jerry Gibson, Paul Martin, and Buck Downs with a score of 57
  • Third place:  Les Payne, Jackie Gross, Ronnie Payne, and Bernie Yurin, also with a score of 57
  • Fourth place: Joe Hunt, Sam Duyka, Courtney Miller, and Mike O'Brien with a score of 59

Special awards went to:

  • Dale Pescatrice for near pin #17
  • David Garcia for near pin #5
  • Truett Wallis for near pin #11
  • Herby Locke for near pin #7
  • Blake Hanna for long drives #6 and #13

TIAA owes special thanks to Jim Bryan of the Texans Credit Union and Ann Pomykal of TI for underwriting the cost of this tournament. This allowed all of the donations to be presented to Molly Bogen, Executive Director of SCGD, at the close of the tournament.

Also responsible for making this tournament a success were the legend sponsors who contributed $1,500 each to SCGD. They were Raymond James, Charles Schwab, Edward Jones, Clear Haven Cruises, LPL Financial, Songbird Hearing, Ken Moraif, and Nationwide Insurance. There were two hole-in-one cars available (but not won) from Classic BMW and Plano Lincoln-Mercury. Please tell all of these businesses that you appreciate their support.

Corporate Sponsors

Legend Sponsors

Champion Sponsors

  • Frost Bank
  • KLA Tencor
  • The Remington at Valley Ranch
  • Candy Post, Group One Realtors

Master Sponsors

  • Don Snell Buick
  • Paradigm Home Health
  • State Farm Insurance

Individual Hole Sponsors

  • Gloria and Rex Ferguson
  • Jan and Herby Locke
  • Bob Moses
  • Jack Swindle
  • Jeanine and Charles Wofford
  • U.S. Trust Company of Texas
  • Ida and Ed Hassler
  • Mr. & Mrs. Pat Weber
  • Mr. & Mrs. Tom Christensen
  • Luise B. Evans
  • Jimmy Feagins
  • Mr & Mrs. Lawrence Gekiere
  • Hank Hayes
  • R.K. Hulton
  • James Jackson
  • Millard B. Jumper, Jr.
  • Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Lane
  • Charles and Barbara Lewis
  • John McCormack
  • Ron McCormick
  • Mr. & Mrs. Max Post
  • Mr. & Mrs. Carl Skooglund
  • Heidrick & Struggles
  • Forrest E. Hoglund
  • Golf Cart Sponsors
  • Iree and Ivison Abney
  • Judy and Jim Adams
  • H.A. Blaylock
  • Reed Ferguson
  • Janet and Ed Ellis
  • Jerry Hook
  • Anita Stinchcombe
  • Pat and Jim Hubbard
  • Patsy Kelley
  • Dave Noble
  • Alice Parry
  • Doug Schwarz
  • Gary Wilson
  • Forest E. Hoaglund
  • Ida and Ed Hassler
  • Patricia and Pat Weber
  • John White

Individual Contributors

Dot Adler, Ed Anttila, John M. Aust, Joan and Delamar Bell, Theyla Bone, Jerry and Ronnie Brandenburg, Paula and H. Ray Calvert, Ethel B. Connally, Maggie L. Evans, Aretha Ford, Ed Gonzalez, Philip R. Gray, Marylynne Hill, Jon Jackson, E.C. Karnavas, Pauldeane Lilly, Jewell C. Lindley, Delores J. Loriaux, Warren K. Lynde, Michael J. McGraw, Anonymous, Ed Millis, Anna J. Morris, DeLois Morris, Richard M. Perdue, Beatrice W. Perkins, Mary Leta Phipps, Jean M. Ramzel, Alfred Riccomi, Janelle M. Richards, Walter H. Riley, Peggy E. Ripple, Ted Scherbel, Shirley Scott, Mike McMahan, Mike O'Brien, Martha L. Taylor, Leonard O. Webster, Laura Weldon, Helen P.Williams, John W. Wilson, Jayne and John E. Woodward, Dallas Financial Advisory, Inc.